The University of Auckland

Established in 1883, the University provides world-class education to more than 40,000 students including over 4,700 international students from more than 90 countries. Students at The University of Auckland can choose from a comprehensive range of programmes to PhD level across eight faculties – Arts, Business, Creative Arts & Industries, Education, Engineering, Law, Medical & Health Sciences and Science.

We are also the only New Zealand member of the prestigious global research-led university groups - Universitas 21, the Association of Pacific Rim Universities and the Worldwide Universities Network.

At The University of Auckland, you’ll enjoy quality teaching in a stimulating campus environment right in the heart of New Zealand’s largest city. Ranked third* worldwide for overall quality of life, Auckland is a vibrant cosmopolitan centre. The convenient location of the city campus offers easy access to the city’s shops, markets, cinemas, galleries, public libraries, entertainment and restaurants.

Auckland is also the gateway to surrounding attractions, being just a few short hours’ drive from the scenic delights of tropical Northland, the ski fields and rivers of the central North Island, and the secluded beaches of the Coromandel Peninsula.


Living in a University of Auckland managed residence is about more than just a room and a place to eat and sleep. It is a priority for us that you feel at home during your time with us. Accommodation options include catered Halls of Residence or self-catered apartments or flats.

apply now
Study Areas
  • Faculty of Arts
  • Business School
  • National Institute of Creative Arts and Industries
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Engineering
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences
  • Faculty of Science